On the Blog – She’s making her list, she’s checking it twice… Liz’s Bucket List…

The inspiration for this blog is a film I saw recently with the mighty Morgan Freeman in, one of my all time favourite actors for the record, called the Bucket List funnily enough.  In case some of you are not familiar with the term ‘Bucket List’, this is a list of things you want to do before you ‘kick the bucket’.  So I thought I would share some of my thoughts with you on this subject and an insight into what is on my Bucket List….. here goes…

I think firstly, it’s hard to make such a list as usually one of the first stipulations is that you allow for having an endless supply of time and money, but taking those things out of the equation as those two provisos may never happen, then you get to the core of your list.  So maybe you should have two lists, a blue sky list (those things that you would do if you won the lottery type things) and a down to earth list?! Or maybe you should re-order your list on an annual basis to take account of your current situation – promoting and demoting items as necessary – Never take anything off your Bucket List.

Saying that there could be a case for removing items and allowances should be made in cases of personal tragedy, for example, you wanted to see the great pyramids of egypt but by some twisted hand of fate you lose your eyesight, that would then be physically unachievable – So is the Bucket List a wish list?  If so the person who has now lost their eyesight would be as well to keep it on their list, with advances of modern medicine and scientific research it could become possible….  So would it stay on the List?!

Oh I don’t know, I have always thought that having goals that are physically achievable are more motivational than those that are not achievable but then sometimes you’ve just got to stick with your aspirations no matter how high, to keep yourself focused in life.

Another thing can subjective items go on the Bucket List, or do they have to be things that are explicitly measurable?

Ok you’ve read enough of my ramblings…  What’s on your Bucket List Liz?  I hear you all shout (OK a bit of an exaggeration there when it’s probably just me with my laptop for company).  I have a long list as I intend to be alive and kicking for a long time yet, but here are a few things on my list in no particular order, although for someone as fastidious as me if it’s not alphabetized or colour-coded there’s something wrong hehe.  I have chosen three in total, one achievable, one subjective and one aspirational…

achievable – To travel on the Orient Express again and go the whole journey without throwing up (it kinda killed the moment, if you know what i’m saying lol)

Subjective – To be the ‘best’ I can be… constantly challenging myself, pushing myself outside my comfort zone, dealing with situations and not  running from them and to always be modestly honest and hard working – definitely the subject for another blog methinks!!

Aspirational – To have my own swimming pool / lap pool in my back garden that I can use all year round (this could have gone in the achievable category, however, current circumstances dictate it’s on this list at the moment!)

So I hope I’ve given you some food for thought… I would love to hear your views on this subject and tell me….

What’s on your Bucket List?

Please leave a reply...

