Go on, make someone’s Christmas….

I was asked recently by a friend what I wanted for Christmas and I paused for thought….

Over the last few years Christmas has taken on a different meaning for me. Every year Christmas seems to start earlier and every year I refuse to acknowledge its existence until at least November. Being a September baby it seems no sooner am I recovering from my birthday that Christmas is raising it’s ugly, commercial head.

Don’t get me wrong I enjoy having a reason to get together with family and friends but it’s a sad state of affairs that it takes Christmas for some people to make the effort to come together, when for the rest of the year they are immersed in their own lives and day-to-day issues without a second thought to those people. It takes 5 minutes to make a connection and could make someone’s day or even week.

So when asked what was on my list, I told them I didn’t have a list and this is why. I feel privileged to have everything I need and when I think about the millions of people who are without a roof over their head or food, having a list doesn’t feel quite right.

Christmas for me is about (but not limited to) the quality time you spend with the people in your life. It’s about smiling and putting a smile on other people’s faces. It’s about sharing joy and compassion with your fellow human beings. It’s also a time to remember that this should not be limited to a couple of weeks a year, that there are 52 weeks in which you can make a difference!

I wish you all a very merry Christmas and urge you to make a difference to even just one person because for them it could mean the world.

4 Responses to “Go on, make someone’s Christmas….”

  1. jalal mikchael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbgh86@gmail.com Says:

    Christmas is in every kind word you say to the others or help some one in need .Christmas in the joy within when you give out of your goodness.Jalal

  2. My sentiments exactly captured! Hope you were able to enjoy quality time with friends and family.

Please leave a reply...

