Wot no Blog…. Singing Weekend Baby!!

Weeks 9 and 10, and in the inimitable words of the Beetles “All together now, all together now….”

I actually have a great excuse for not blogging last weekend and that was because I went away with a fantastic group of people for a singing weekend in Cheshunt, UK.  And what a blast!  Now a couple of pounds heavier,  more musically enlightened, with a skip in my step and a song in my heart, a newly bonded network of singers to perform with and a restored focus on music in my life.

A really successful weekend, which allowed me to spend some quality time with a friend, relax and get into the spirit of music and the joy it can bring to your body and soul.  I had a fair bit of time to think too, in between the packed schedule of music through the ages and plethora of food on offer to distract you (hence the weight gain!), I thought why when something brings me so much pleasure do I not make more time for it in my life.

This was a very good question and one that I couldn’t answer because there was no reason, I was in control of making that decision no-one else.  I’m sure we are all guilty of not putting ourselves first, getting the enjoyment we need and instead giving this up maybe to ensure others are more catered for.  However, we can offer so much more to others if we ourselves are happy and fulfilled, it is not selfish to be a whole and happy person.

I wanted to share with you what we covered over the weekend and then move on to what actions I’ve taken since:

And so to the schedule of events:

Saturday 2nd March
09:00-10:30 Session No.1 – Warm up, getting to know each other
11:00-13:00 Session No.2 – Hildegard von Bingen / Perotin
14:00-15:30 Session No.3 – Robert Jones
15:45-17:00 Session No.4  – Henry VIII / Vivaldi

Sunday 3rd March
09:00-10:30 Session No.5 – Mozart
11:00-12:00 Session No.6 – Verdi
13:00-14:30 Session No.7 – Verdi plus Cello, Violin and piano
15:00-16:00 Session No.8 – Recording

I think you would agree a packed weekend.  I was so tired afterwards, it’s taken me nearly a week to restore my energy levels back to my pre singing weekend levels.

So what actions have I taken since, well;

1) I have signed up for some piano/music theory lessons to improve my understanding of how music fits together and will hopefully also give me the ability to accompany myself when writing my own music,

2) I have given myself some music goals, such as listening to music to relax – I am a great lover of silence but think music plays just as greater part in improving your well-being as a moment of silence does,

3) I will incorporate music in a ‘Vision Board’ which I intend to make myself to realise my other life’s ambitions…. maybe more on that another day.

So that’s it from me, have a super weekend y’all and remember, if music be the food of love, play on….

 

Please leave a reply...

