Music….. Aspire to Inspire

Another weekly Blog is upon us and I have to say that week 15 has actually been one of the better weeks for me so far this year, which doesn’t really seem fair with all the atrocities and injustices happening elsewhere in the world.

So first I would like to send my thoughts and love to all those affected this week, not only in Boston but all over the world where people have died needlessly at the hands of some cause or another.  I, therefore, take a moment to remember them and reflect……..

Ok so let’s go back to Monday, if you will, the weather was good. I think we have finally had spring sprung upon us in the UK, after the weeks of on and off snow showers, cold winds and dark nights; the garden plants are starting to grow and the garden seems a much more welcoming place.  This ‘new start’ time of year coupled with good weather helps to keep your spirits up especially with the thought that summer is just around the corner.  Well, we are all keeping our fingers crossed it is.

So at the start of any new week many challenges lay ahead and you may be wondering how things will pan out, it’s a good question to ask yourself. Remember, you have the ability to mould and control what happens to you, so how you react to a challenge or situation will determine which path you will go down next.   I think the key is that you keep a positive open mind, plan for the best, expect the worst and you shouldn’t be disappointed

I have to say in my own life there has been a definite sea change of late with the small steps I have been making to improve my life and my prospects.  All these small decisions I am making are necessary steps and building blocks to changing the bigger picture, my future.   What I have also found particularly this week is that this positivity and focused mindset also rubs off on others.  They see you setting goals and your growing determination to make things different and they start to think what they could do to make some changes, put in place some goals. [Note: You cannot achieve a goal without giving yourself a deadline which is stretching but also realistic.]  And as a result this actually further increases the positivity around you and spurs you on to do more in the pursuit of change and personal growth.  When this happen you know you are building momentum towards a significant change….

I had my first music lesson this week after a long break, about 25 years (showing my age), which went well and I felt encouraged that I still knew a bit of the theory I had learnt all those years ago.  It felt a bit like getting back on a bike after a considerable time away. You sort of know what you are doing but the coordination has gone and the exact technique buried.   But, after a while the embedded skills you learnt return and it’s like you had never stopped.  I hope this happens with my piano playing!

Going off piste for a moment… Remember me telling you I bought a tab to ‘Blog-on-the-go’ well, I am having a few teething problems around using the onscreen typing pad with Polaris.  Hopefully I will get used to it as it’s a great gadget to write on.  Being able to produce a piece of text without any errors is proving to be challenging, editing ability is difficult, and I have to resort to finishing up my pieces on my laptop … I feel a bit of a review coming on.

Another first for me this week was that I gave a CV writing skills session to a class of 25 eleven year olds as a volunteer, which was really insightful, rewarding, challenging and definitely another grow point on my path to a better me.  I would really encourage anyone who has a spare hour or two to get involved in some sort of volunteering, you get so much out of it and so do the people you help.  It also helps to open up your people network and who knows what other opportunities that will bring…

Well, that’s me done for another week.  Hope you all have a great day with lots of positivity and if you feel like you need inspiring, look in the mirror as everything you need to succeed in life is looking right back at you!

2 Responses to “Music….. Aspire to Inspire”

  1. jalal michael sabbagh.http://gravatar.com/jmsabbagh86@gmail.com Says:

    Truly inspiring and its the bright reality.Greetings,jalal

Please leave a reply...

