Skulduggery Pleasant… that was week 42….

Week 42, well what can I say…  Instead of writing on my blog again another thing I have been doing is reading more.

I’m usually more one for reading self-help books, instructional texts and obviously, financial publications, but this week I picked up a book that I really couldn’t put down.

As an infrequent reader of fiction, I’m probably not very refined or credible in my views on it stories and do not really have a lot of literary works under my belt to probably have an opinion worth much to some, however, this book was entertaining and absorbing and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes….. I’m not even sure what genre it would be classified as – so I will resort to a quote from the Blurb..

“Meet Skulduggery Pleasant: wise-cracking detective, powerful magician, sworn enemy of evil.  Oh yes.  And dead.”

It was a quick read, even for someone such as myself with a slow reading technique (notice I used the word technique there, as though it’s a deliberate slowness on my part).  It was action packed, the story moved quickly so you felt you were on the journey with the characters.  It also had some very witty scenes and good rapport building dialogue between the two main characters, who were very likeable – although one a little unconventional.

I am now compelled to read more of Derek Landy’s work and note he has written more books in the Skulduggery Pleasant series, in fact Skulduggery has even got his own website!

http://www.skulduggerypleasant.co.uk/

I would say it’s probably aimed at the younger ‘Teen’ market but hey what’s wrong with being 12 again.. eh?

Please leave a reply...

