Southbank Skateboarders – 12 August 2016

As some of you may know I am currently studying a photography degree and as a result of my 3rd Assignment – ‘The Decisive Moment’, which I have now submitted, I found myself at the Southbank Skate Park armed with my camera ready to take some action photography.  We had a number of options with regards to what methods we could use and I chose the ‘frozen moment’ i.e. freezing the action (for those of a technical disposition this means using a high shutter speed).

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I got there but it was a lovely summers evening so the park was buzzing with skateboarders and people in general and I was pleased to see the tourists were taking photographs.  This meant apart from my slightly bigger lens I didn’t feel too inconspicuous.

Luckily there were a number of skateboarders doing some really good tricks so I snapped away.  There was one particular skateboarder who was trying to master a trick so he was doing the same trick over and over again, this was great for me as it meant I could set up my focus point where I knew he was going to jump and then wait until he got to that point before pressing the shutter button.

After I had got everything I needed, I thanked the skateboarder for putting up with my persistent endeavors but would like to thank you again Luca Menegon, you really helped me out!

Here are some of the photographs I took of Luca on the day:

 

If you decide you want to give this a try I would definitely recommend you check out Josh Katz’s video – Skateboarding Photography For Beginners, which covers 10 simple steps to get started in skate photography.

Also for some inspiration take a look at some skateboard photographers work, I found a list on an online skateboarding photo magazine: http://skateboardingphoto.co.uk/

Hope you are all having a great weekend!

9 Responses to “Southbank Skateboarders – 12 August 2016”

  1. Great set of photos and some really lovely light! I know what you mean about the tourists too 🙂 I was there at the Southbank a few years back, at the Christmas Market. Good place to get some nice photography!

  2. […] via Southbank Skateboarders – 12 August 2016 — Misselisabethuk’s Blog […]

  3. neocasanova Says:

    awesome

Please leave a reply...

